Thunderbird Slam.

Posted: December 19, 2012 in Thunderbird
Tags: , ,

DSC04117 (1024x768)100_7388 (1024x768)Before, on the right.  After, the left.  I pulled the front springs out, and replaced them with a pair of what I believe were an extra pair left over from the ’62 Impala project.  I cut 4 coils off, slipped them in, and this is result.  Almost 4″ lower in front, still plenty of suspension travel, and no more nosebleed stance.  Now, I need some 1″ blocks for the rear, don’t I?

In other news, day before yesterday I bought a new battery for the car, and installed it, fully expecting it to fire right up.  My first clue that things might not go right was when the horns started blaring as soon as the battery was hooked up.  Took me a minute to remember where the horns are, but I “fixed” that by plugging them.  We’ll address stuck relay later.

I got in and turned the key, it rolled over but wouldn’t fire.  Trying again, I left a few seconds for the fuel pump to cycle, but heard nothing.  Checked the fuel rail on the intake, no pressure.  Checked roll-over switch in the trunk, it was energized the proper 2 or 3 seconds when the key is turned “On”, so that could only mean pump was seized.

Long story short, that indeed was the problem.  The inside of the tank had rust stalactites, bottom lined with about an eighth inch of gummy black varnish, and to top it off, the top left rear corner of the tank is swiss cheesed with rust.  So much for plan to fire the car right up and drive it up and down the driveway.

So, there’s a new ’88 Ford Tempo fuel pump, the tank is at my friend Bud’s radiator shop, “Kings Radiator” in Kalamazoo getting patched, cleaned and sealed, and I’m now going turn my attention back to the Diamond T, which is resting under a tarp. 

Here are some photos of the T’Birds new stance, much more befitting a custom car.  It’s so low, it’s like the Thunder(Bird) Down Under.  

DSC04115 (1024x768)DSC04119 (1024x768)

DSC04118 (1024x768)DSC04120 (1024x768)

Comments
  1. My French Heaven says:

    This is so cool I have no words for it! You are a lucky lucky person!!!

Leave a Reply

