How to do basic bodywork, day 2.

Posted: April 25, 2013 in Antique trucks, Diamond T truck
Tags: , , , , ,

DSC04482 (1024x768)This is progress?  In a word, yes.  The fender had to come off, both to finish the metalwork, and to then to spread and sand the filler.  Not only would there been a (very good) chance of putting some scratches in the cowl and grill shell with the coarse sandpaper, but I’m too old to sand a fender standing on my head.

Yesterday I bought some high-end filler, and I have to say that the difference is amazing, both in the ease with it spreads, but the way it sands.  It’s very easy to work, and saves MUCH time.  I’ve always bought inexpensive “light-weight” plastic filler, which costs about $20 a gallon.  This stuff is over forty dollars a gallon, but the difference is amazing.  And, because it works easily,  I think I used less to get the fender and grill shell damage finished.  Of course, if I was better at metalwork, I’d spend even less, but I’m getting there.

 

DSC04484 (1024x768)DSC04485 (1024x768)I also bought some 80 and 120 grit long board paper on a roll, that’s adhesive backed.  It lasts MUCH longer than the stuff I’ve been using, and again saved my hours of labor getting the fender finished.  I now have enough paper to last for a lifetime at the rate I’m going.  I have the T’Bird to finish up, and Craig’s Mustang to refinish, so I’m sure I’ll use some of it on those projects.  Then, who knows?

DSC04486 (1024x768)So, I’m almost ready to shoot primer.  That will have to wait for the weekend, but I think I can get it done if the weather cooperates.  I was a bit apprehensive about how I’d do blocking out the filler, with my shoulder hurting as it does, but it went OK.  I’m having a torn biceps tendon repair in a month, and this has to be done before that, and the TCT Rally in Milford in May.  Then, two weeks of R&R, and it’s off on the Lincoln Highway Centennial Tour with the truck and the Spartan.

Gotta get busy!

Comments
  1. Karin says:

    what is the filler that you used? We are going to have to do a skim coat over our whole truck since it’s pitted from surface rust and I’d like to use something that is easy to spread and sand! And where did you buy the sandpaper?

  2. kdvpol@charter.net says:

    Quality products and tools sure do pay for themselves in tems of time and end results. Have you sourced a new front bumper yet?

    Keith

  3. Mart Dawson says:

    Some good tips, thanks for sharing.

  4. flynbrian48 says:

    Kieth, Yes, that was easy. It’s a 47-54 Chevy pickup bumper from Chev’s of the 40’s. Karin, the brand name of the filler I don’t recall, but it’s similar to “Rage Gold” in price and workability. I think all the premium quality fillers are going to be comparable. Don’t buy “Bondo”. The long-board paper on a roll is sticky-backed, and really convienient to use. It’s avalable at auto body supply shops, or check on line with “Smart Shoppers”, they may have it too.

Leave a Reply

